New Build - Please Help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all,

I am in the process of upgrading my computer and need some tips / advice for doing so.

Rig-

Windows XP -64 Bit Edition
Asus M2N-E Motherboard
BFG GTX285 Video Card
4gb G-Skill Dual DDR2 Memory (5 - 5- 5 - 12)
AMD II x4 940 Black Edition CPU (4 x 3.0Ghz)
7200RPM Seagate HD - 300gb
OCZ Gamestream 700W Power Supply
Huge Custom Built Black - Blue Case - Neon Lighting

That is what I have purchased for this computer upgrade. Now my question is with the AMD II 940 processor is it worth overclocking it to say 3.4Ghz? I know people have reached 3.6Ghz stable but I have never overclocked before and my room can get fairly hot in the summer without AC.

I am new to this upgrading thing but I have done it before so any advice or tips to make my new gaming rig be more efficient would be greatly appreciated. What are your thoughts on my build? Any advice on overclocking?

Thanks

Mike

No its not worth overclocking, it performs worse than a i7 940 at stock when its at 3.4Ghz. Its not worth the voltage you have to put on it. If you're going to buy this thing it shouldnt be to overclock. It should be because you're (A), a fan boy or (B) are on a budget and want to take advantage of the price wars right now. This is not (C) an overclocking cpu<--the improvements over stock arent worth it.

Oh, btw, welcome to TS.

Yea I wont overclock it, I was just wondering if it was worth overclocking the CPU or anything for that matter in my system.

I have been an AMD person for a while because I think the pricepoint is better. While it may not perform as well as Intel I still like saving some money :)

Any tips for putting all this stuff together to make it run optimally? I am upgrading from a Quad AMD @ 2.2Ghz and an 8800 GT Oc2 Video card and a bit slower 4gb ram.

Hopefully these new changed will help my performance!

Edit-