New custom PC build that will not start up

screamingpilch

Hello all thanks for trying to help me,

I am a first time PC builder that has put his computer together and it will not start up.

I push the on button, Light comes on, fans and hard drive start up but then the system turns off. I would say the process is about 1 second overall. Here are my pc spec's.

Intel i5 2500k
ASUS z68 lx motherboard
500gb Seagate baracuda
OCZ 750watt power supply
8GB G-Skill Ripgaw RAM

I am a noob at this kind of thing so all help will be greatly apprietiated, Thanks,

Sam

Make sure the motherboard isn't touching anything it shouldn't.

Sounds like it could be shorting out.

Passed that it could be an psu issue.

Thanks for the reply.

Could it possibly be a problem my CPU?
When I installed it one half of the pins on my motherboard bent forward as I closed the bracket. I checked that they are both LGA 1155 socket as well and read the instructions on the motherboard booklet and the Intel processor booklet.
Also, My processor has no pin's as the contact points, instead it is flat. Is that right?

Thanks again

Yes the processor has only contact surfaces, intels at least. It should be flat. If you bent pins on your motherboard as you installed the processor you need to carefully, and I stress CAREFULLY try to bend them back into place, with something like a needle. You need to make sure there is no power connected before you try suck a thing. UNPLUG AND DISCONNECT EVERYTHING.

When you install a cpu you should not put any pressure on it as you lay it down. I generally try to drop it into place completely flat.

Ok I understand

I just don't know why they bent. I did just drop the cpu onto the socket but when the cover came down and I tried to close the lever thats when the pin's bent. :(

I'm really annoyed with myself, I didn't rush it or was heavy-handed and yet I have still seemed to mess it up.