New member with a slow pc problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

CRMark

Hello everyone!

I've never done a forum before so I'm not sure how everything works. But what I do know is that by spending a little time reading a few posts that this seems to be a good community for solving problems. I have been using computers for a few years and know enough to be dangerous, which probably covers alot of users. I recently started having problems with extremely slow startups on my 1.5 yr old dell. I'd say about 1-2 minutes before I can open a program when I'm used to about 15-20 seconds. Once things settle down the system seems to work fine and I'm not seeing any problems with shut down. I've also noticed that IE is slow also, but I also recently stepped up to IE7 and I've seen forums around that say its slow anyway.

Using the forum I see alot of posting for HiJackThis log files. I have done one these for my computer but have no idea what is good and what needs to be looked at closely. I also have done the Ad-Aware scan and found a few critical items and deleted them. I've also done defrag of system. These 2 steps improved system some but not to where it was.

I also have noticed in regedit that many of the programs I've delete still have keys scattered here and there, can these effect performance and if so can they be deleted? I have created a folder to export them into before deleting them but I am just a little nervous to pull the trigger.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to Techspot!!!

Steps you can take or need to take or answer:

1. Follow the steps about posting your HiJack log as an attachment on your reply.
2. Disable unnecessary programs through Start>Run>MSCONFIG. Un check anything not needed to run on the start-up tab.
3. When was the last time you de-fragged the HD?
4. Are you running a firewall?
5. Are you running any virus protection?
6. Have you recently installed software then noticed the slow down?

Thank you,