Overclocking

Status
Not open for further replies.

GeekieNick101

I have a question I have no clue how to overclock a CPU to improve the perfromance?
Heres the specs
Inspiron B120 Laptop

Intel Celeron M 360 (1.40GHz/1MB Cache/400MHz FSB)

14.1 WXGA Display

512MB,DDR2,533MHz,2 DIMM

Integrated Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 900

40GB Ultra-ATA Hard Drive

Microsoft Windows XP Home Service Pack 2

Integrated Network Card

Internal 56K Modem

24X Combo CD-RW/DVD

Dell 1370 Internal Wireless (802.11b/g, 54Mbps)

35 WHr 4-cell Lithium Ion Primary Battery

Thanks for your help

I am no expert, but before you over clock you are going to need to upgrade from your stock CPU fan if that is possible on a laptop.
cheers
hynesy:wave:

I'd leave the laptop as it is. Any tweaking I'd do would be related to increasing battery life :p

Laptops usually have really tight thermal control. Which is why overclocking is left to desktops, where there's more headroom to play with in terms of temperature.

Ok, Thak you yeah I was wondering since more heat is caused when people overclock and I seen were Dell alptops exploded and it was a B130 I tihnk so thats close to mine. I just got this comptuer for internet use only and got a really good deal on it I just was wondering if I could speed it up but I guess its a desktop thing I never really noticed that before but your right I never heard of anyone really overclocking laptops.
Thanks for help

Usually oc'ing is done in the bios, but you have two things that will likely prevent you from bios overclocking, first your computer is a laptop(few laptops have overclocking options), and second your computer is a dell(dell rarely, except on their highest end computers, puts overclocking options on their system).

The second option would be overclocking from within windows from a software program, like clockgen, but clockgen only supports some motherboards/chipsets, and I don't see your laptops intel 910gml chipset listed as one of them.