Performance Decrease after BIOS update?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eddy05

Anyone has a P4ITA2 motherboard? I had a serious problem here (For a gamer, it's serious.) After I update my BIOS to the lastest P4ITA2 revision, my RAM was underclocked from PC800 to PC600! It reduced my 3DMark score from 8089 to 7543! That's a serious drastic situation! My bandwidth dropped from 3.2gb/s/channel to 2.4gb/s/channel!!! Any remedy to it?

Yeah... put it back to the way that it was.

I don't want to be preachy here but in my several years tenure as a computer technician and then as a systems administrator, I have broken many a thing by upgrading to the latest firmware / BIOS / etc... just because of the hell of it and not because that firmware or BIOS upgrade actually fixed any problem that I was having....

Typical example was a CD-RW drive from Yamaha that I bought a few years back. This was back when having a CD-RW drive was a really big deal, and this was a SCSI drive which was like K I C K A S S ! ! ! !

All was fine until I upgraded to the latest firmware and then all hell broke loose. At one stage the firmware actually got corrupted and the drive would do some really trippy things. For a long time I had to reapply the previous version of the firmware just to get the drive to write CDs and then still it would often refuse to properly read a CD that it had just written.

There was no reason to appy the firmware, I just did it to be cool. So be aware of these issues and don't do stuff like that unless you really have to.

I think you can probably roll back to the previous BIOS, your board's manufacturer's web site SHOULD have an archive of previous versions, or you can also try and see if they have an ftp server which will likely have it even if its not linked to on their web site.

I had a serious performance loss when I upgraded the BIOS of my A7M266... like no performance from it at all.