Please insert a bootable floppy?

Help!
So I got this Free Dos laptop literally hours ago and I was trying to install Windows XP. I dont know what I was thinking when I tried to do it myself because Im a complete newbie at computers.

I tried to set up the partitions first but clearly I did something wrong and now I get this message "This is not a bootable disk. Please insert a bootable floppy and press any key to try again "
Now, I dont have a floppy disk at this laptop but I can boot from CD ( it gives me the blue screen at some point when I try to install XP, probably because I dont have any partitions formatted )
So my question is: what should I do to get over that message?

Thank you in advance

If you setup the partitions but didn't install the OS yet, the system is not bootable, so it's looking for some way to boot.

You need to set it to boot off of your cdrom, so the windows installation can start. You can usually do this by pressing F8 or something at startup to enter a boot menu.

Your other option is to go into the BIOS and set the cdrom to be the first boot device.

You should probably just look for some step-by-step XP clean install instructions. I've done it a bunch of times, but I'm not you.

Anyways, you need to format the hard drive. All of this is done from the XP set-up program (which is what you're running when you boot from the disc).

This article from Microsoft might help you out. If not, just come back and say which steps you're having trouble with.