PSU not enough for my Graphics Card?

Ryan Townsend

Let me dive straight into my problem..

I have a 500w power supply (There's not brand on it, It came with my PC 2ish years ago.)

I've recently bought a GTX 660 Graphics card, everything went perfect until... I started playing games. As soon as I would get into the game, set up my graphics, within 2-10 minutes (time varies with different games) My whole computer would switch off without warning, and then 1-3 seconds later switch back on with no indication that anything went wrong.

It can't be the Temperature or my GPU or CPU, as the game doesn't stay on long enough for the whole thing to crash.. I think.

Should I upgrade my PSU to a 750w power supply or something?

Any reply would be massively appreciated.

-Ryan

In general the PSU's that come with cases don't usually have good reputations. It is nearly always a consensus among forums, to recommend purchasing the case and PSU separately. This way you can select a brand PSU, that is of better quality.

Does your PSU have a 6-pin PCIe power connector for the GPU, or did you have to use the 4-pin Molex adapter? If you are using the molex adapter, you could try different 4-pin connectors. It is doubtful though that this would work, as generic PSU's normally only have one power rail. Which means no matter which connector used, you are essentially tapping into the same power source.

Personally it does sound as if you are over taxing the PSU. From the sound of what you are describing, the PSU more than likely has fault protection. If so when the voltage drops below a specific level, the PSU shuts off instantly.

In general the PSU's that come with cases don't usually have good reputations. It is nearly always a consensus among forums, to recommend purchasing the case and PSU separately. This way you can select a brand PSU, that is of better quality.