Random crash

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wyldeguitarist

I am trying to author a dvd to burn. Every time I start the process, a few minutes into it the blue screen of death shows. I've been researching and can't find a solution. I have had Vista installed for a few months and it usually works. This is my first attempt at burning dvds though. And someone please tell me how to find my computer's specs because I can't find them (CPU, PSU, Motherboard, OS, etc.).

The above text (in my post) in Blue are clickable links

But if you have a proprietory manufactured computer (like Dell Asus Hp....) place this information (Make AND Model) in the Mobo field
in your Profile <-- see clickable :)

Make sure you also answer "Yes" in your Profile ( <- not clickable) to showing your specs.

Then reply once done

I havent tried ccleaner yet because I'm still having the crashing problem during the authoring phase. So how does the motherboard specs help me stop my computer from crashing?

hi wyldeguitarist
Sounds like crash is caused by your burning and authoring software. thats why i am asking what program are you using?

Ive tried dvdflick, convertxtodvd, and nero vision, all have the same error, about a few minutes into the process i get an error either "ffmpeg.exe has stopped working" or "logitek something has stopped working" followed by the blue screen and restart. Sorry Kim about the dumb question, I just don't understand what steps need to be taken. Should I post a mini dump?

Update: I tried authoring other files and it worked and burned. But now I'm at another problem, I get "disc error" on both of my dvd players. Using Digix HT-1056a and Toshiba SD-2705.

there are many ways of getting to where they are stored: i will give you this method and no doubt someone will probably give you a short cut:

go to Start > then in the search/run box at the bottom of the start menu type "C:\windows\minidump\" (without the quotes) and enter