SATA drive not read by DVD player with USB port

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there, I'm new to the community here. My nickname is Resource. I am currently studying for my A+ certification. I however have a question - and need advice.
I purchased an Sata external Hard Disk. I installed the drivers and formated the drive in order to see it's drive letter in My Computer - it is working fine on my PC. I however cannot see my Music files when I connect the Sata external drive to my DVD player( that has a USB Port) The error message displayed on the screen "NO DISK" When I copy a few songs from the Sata external onto my flash drive (memory stick) and plug the flash drive into my DVD usb port then the songs are displayed and it plays.

What are the reason why the DVD player do not read the Sata External hard drive?
Should I not have formated the Sata external? Or must it be partitioned. If so- as Fat32 or NTFS?
Anyone with advice - kindly post it - I have over 3000 music files that I want to access. But I want to play these songs through the DVD player via USB.
Thank you

Does the external drive have its own own power supply, or is it deriving its power from the USB connection?
It would be helpful to know more about the computer, operating system, and configuration.

Sata drive not read by DVD player

The Sata external drive has it's won power supply.
Please help
Why are the external sata drive read on my pc and not on my home dvd that also has a usb port?

Thank you

The Sata external drive has it's own power supply.
My PC runs on Windows XP pro. The external works fine on the PC ( no problem there).
I cannot see anything if I plug the external Sata drive into the DVD player's USB port. My flashdrive works fine in the DVD usb port.
QUESTION:
Why are the external sata drive read on my pc and not on my home dvd that also has a usb port?

Thank you

The Sata external drive has it's own power supply.