SATA & IDE drive problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

ronaldo9_r9

Hello everyone,
I am new to computers i have sata drive which came with pc and i wanted to install another drive which came from my older pc which is IDE drive. I have set jumpers for IDE drive as slave, MY DVDROM 2 drives one is master another is slave. my other drive is on IDE Channel 3 its also master drive.

Is this the correct setup please have a look at screenshot and let me know if i need to change the jumpers etc. If you look at picture i have Maxtor drives 80gb came from older pc it has windows 7 installed and WDC drive has winodws xp pro installed. I had 2 blue screen so far i don't know if master/slave settings are causing it.

Here is picture

or click here http://img9.imageshack.us/i/gedc0186j.jpg/

Thanks in advanced.

The image is not readable to me, but then I am old and frail.

How did you connect the IDE drive? Did you use the recommended add-on board, and cable?

The Maxtor is old an frail itself, and not known for a long life. You might be better off putting it in an external enclosure and saving the data... because the life of the drive is actually only 2 years and 8 months in our experience.

Otherwise, please find a way to enlarge the image... or to simply type it out.

Sorry, I made an assumption on setup, without knowing your board... assuming you had added the EIDE drive to a SATA connection.

Have you tried putting the Maxtor on IDE Channel 1 on master?

and the Western Digital on IDE Channel 2 master?

My WD drive connected to sata. So i need Maxtor to connect to channel 1 and set jumper from slave to master what about my other 2 cd rom drives do they need to be on master also. WD is a SATA drive which is connected to its own connection. Did you check the picture i have uploaded.

In that case I would put the two hard drives on so that the Maxtor is on Channel 1 master and the Western Digital is on Channel 1 slave.