Slow AMD Xpress200m devices running XP Pro SP3

Dear community,

recently our resident MSCE left and I have been drafted into administering about 250 MS Windows XP Pro SP3 desktop machines. I'm a UNIX admin by trade and I'm not very knowledgeable about the ins and outs of MS Windows (although I know my way around MS servers).

About 75 of these machines are HP Compaq dc5750 microtowers and my users report that those have experienced terrible slow-downs over the past six months. I checked and they are right, these machines crawl! To give you an idea, opening MS Word takes about 5 minutes! Other programs do not behave any better.
Those dc5750s are built upon the AMD Xpress200m chipset, with 160GB SATA HDs (7200 RPM Barracudas, if it matters), AMD Athlon X2 4000+, 1GB RAM, a X1300 Radeon add-on card with 128MB of VRAM and 2 x Broadcom b57 NICs (one for normal networking, one for RIS). The software library is quite standard, I guess, MS Office 2007 Pro Plus, Adobe Acrobat Pro 8.x or 9.x, Firefox 3.6.x, McAfee Enterprise 8.x OR Sophos Endpoint, OPSI clients (for RIS) and that's about it. The rest is done over webapplications. They are about 4-5 years old and need to live 3 more years.

What leaves me wondering is that the machines apparently worked flawlessly for many years and suddenly they are all(!) grinding to a halt. At the same time the Intel-based machines don't show any problems. All of them, Intel and AMD machines, receive Microsoft software updates automatically (I don't know if that's smart, but that's the way it currently is) and I can only guess something from upstream broke the AMD machines.

Like I said, I'm new in this section of the business and need pointers. I checked my network, and I think I can rule out any problems there. I dabbled with Eventvwr, perfmon and procexplorer but I lack the experience to draw any useful conclusions :(

There are several free programs I and many other Windows PC users make use of.