Task manager and other admin stuff blocked, and occasional web site re-direction

Status
Not open for further replies.

watty

hello all,

I'm new to this, and don't really know what I'm doing, but I am desperate to fix this thing.

A little over a month ago I got a virus called Windows Protection Suite. I surfed around a bit and found Malwarebytes Anit-Malware was recommended and that fixed most of the big problems with that virus. I was using NOD 32 at the time, that expired and I'm now on AVG Free 9.0.

Last few days I've tried several programs to fix this and came across your 8 step program....so....

I still have two really problematic syptoms
1) Certain administrator functions that would seem to be helpful in the removal of this thing are blocked. I don't get a message or anything, I just try to start task manager and it doesn't happen. It seems like it tries to start and gets killed. Other admin problems that I know of include blocked from editing hosts list and blocked from initiallizing Spyware Doctor (although other programs haven't posed this problem). I was also blocked from updating Superantivirus database, I don't know if that is related. I can change date/time, so I am still the administrator...

2) There's some redirecting when I try to go to sites via Google search results. Most are fine, and it seems random which sites get hijacked, but the AVG knows and doesn't give a green check to those listings. Redirection goes to Gala search engine and other bogus shopping directory type search lists.

I am attaching the Hijack This log and the SuperAntivirus scan log and the most recent Malwarebytes log. The Hijack This log clearly has some issues I need help with. The others are only finding cookies at this point.

Help?!?
And thanks in advance for your time!

PS I put on the COMODO firewall as part of step one and so far it is really annoying with permissions and seems to have really slowed things down...is there a better option?