Trying to use Adobe Illustrator Magic Wand tool

xarzu

Hello Forum!

I am trying to use Adobe Illustrator and I am just about ready to give up. This is my first time, so I have some patience but it is running thin.

I am trying to use the magic wand tool to select an area. As this video I made shows, it does nothing when I select on the magic wand. I try to use the lasso tool first, but that does nothing as well:

On Adobe's web site, there is an ***** with a radio announcer's voice walking through the steps but I do not have any of the results that he has and I do not know why:

http://tv.adobe.com/watch/learn-ill...ol-to-select-colors-patterns-shapes-and-more/

He throws out "Adobe Illustrator is an Object Oriented software...." as if this is something new. Who is he trying to impress. Not me. The guy does not seem to be a real user of Adobe Illustrator and is only making the video to satisfy Adobe's desire to have a few tutorials in existence. It is disappointing. I think there are steps that this guy leaves off that clearly I need if you look at my video first.

Can you help?

Unfortunately I don't have experience with Adobe Illustrator. The program I work with has layers. If the layer with the object is not selected, the wand will not select correctly. I am confused as to why there is an object on the left side that looks as if it is selected. But yet you are trying to select an area on the right side.

The image on the right was scanned in and so it is not made of objects or layers. The image on the left is one I am making from scratch. How cut a piece out of the image on the right?

Photoshop, (one has to assume Illustrator has this feature also) .has several modes of their selection tools. One of their functions is, "subtract from selection". Obviously, if the Magic Wand is locked in that mode, and there is no selection made, it won't do anything.