Ubuntu firewall and av

Status
Not open for further replies.

ejames82

hi,

i am new to ubuntu and would like to know about security programs in general.
in windows, a firewall and a real-time residential antivirus is recommended. is this also the case in ubuntu 8.04 hardy heron? we already have firestarter as a firewall and clamav as an antivirus, but don't know how to verify if they are serving their function.
can other av's be installed and ran as on-demand scanners without conflict? how is this done? newbie-newbies here.

To the best of my knowledge current Linux distros don't require AV or Anti Spyware. For the most part, I don't believe the bad guys have caught up with them yet. But, I'm sure they're working on it.
Phantasm66 has written a good guide about Linux security, and best of all, it's right at the top of this page. It's deep though, very, very deep. Scary deep!

https://www.techspot.com/vb/topic2199.html

captain,
you are so right. that info is very, very deep. the terminology used there just totally took me off guard. i am barely crawling and that info requires someone who is at least walking. maybe a little farther down the road.....
thanks for the reply.

My son and his new bride have a computer that I built for them, and they've involved themselves with "Face Book". Here's the part I don't get, despite using the same security software as me, they've managed to download malware, while myself, being a dirty old man can go to other "less reputable" websites , and haven't had much, if any problems.
So, here's what I was thinking. Maybe should install a copy of the latest Ubuntu on the box in question, just to have them set up email accounts on it. It is after all, free. The Linux is immune to the BS that's circulating, (as is Mac), but Ubuntu can read and deal with NTFS files. End of headaches for me.