Video card compatibility Intel, DirectX 8.1-9.0

Hello
I bought a game to play (Treasure Island c2009) and after installation, went to start it and had an error message regarding "shader obsolete" issues and the game will not start at all. I emailed the game creators (Dreamcatcher) and they say I need a directx 8.1 compatible video card. On the game box, it says Directx 9.0 compatible. I have a Dell Inspiron 530 with 2038 mb RAM and have played newer games than this one. I did the "run" thing to find out the version I have. I have an Intel G33/G31 Express Chipset. It says I have Directx 9.0. On the "directx" tab of info, on the day I loaded the game, all these new "microsoft.directx.direct3D.dll" files were installed. I uninstalled and reinstalled the game several times and still get the shader error message. The game creator says my video card is not compatible. Is this true? Is there a magic list somewhere that says what my video card is compatible with? I am not a techie (I know a little about some things) so if you could speak to me like I'm five years old, that would be great! Well...maybe 12 years old. Thank you ahead of time. I should also add that the driver is dated 1/13/10 for the Intel thing. And I have Windows XP. Here are the game specs: * Windows 2000/XP
* Intel Pentium 1.4 GHz
* 1.5 GB RAM
* 15 GB Free hard drive space
* 64 MB DirectX 9 Compatible Video Card
* 16-bit DirectX Compatible
* 16x CD/DVD-ROM

Have you tried uninstalling DirectX 9.0 and installing DirectX 8.0?
I don't know if this works, but I have heard of the problem before... One would think the upgrade to 9.0 would work... and if a recent card since 2006, why wouldn't it work.

When you say "Treasure Island >> c2009 << Is that part of the title, or when the game was produced? Direct X versions are intended to be backwards compatible. Which version Intel integrated graphics do you have, GMA4500?