Vista Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neji49

Why is Vista so bad? I'm building a new computer and I'm wondering whether to use Vista or not. Thansk in advance.

It's not - merely anti-Microsoft/Vista propaganda. I've been running Vista for eight months now on two different systems and three different motherboards and had ZERO problems with anything.

If the system you're building is up to date with current technology, new motherboard and dual-core processor, then get Vista, you'll likely have zero problems.

It's recommended to have Vista regardless seeing as it likely has the most product support for the future. =]

Agreed, although i refuse to put vista onto any of our business machines at the moment, for home use its the way forward.
I use Home Premium on 3 pc's at home with one dual booting with xp pro, just in case i need xp for any legacy software.

Whether it's good or bad (or something in between - some things aren't black and white) depends on how fixated you're in the way things work in older Windows versions.

Many (if not most) complaints about Vista seem to be about UAC and the new security model where the default user isn't a "real" administrator anymore. Too many Windows applications have assumed that the user has administrative rights and can do anything. That changed in Vista, and so those applications either cause a lot of UAC prompts or won't work properly. Of course from user's point of view it's Vista's fault.

Other thing that people still keep whining about is the hardware requirements. Computers that run XP well (which, in itself, is very subjective) might not run Vista so well. Maybe people have short memories, or maybe they're too young to have witnessed, but the same applies to previous versions of Windows as well:

- MS-DOS runs well on a 286 with 2 MB of RAM, but Windows 3.1 might not,
- Windows 3.1 runs well on a 386 with 4 MB of RAM, but Windows 95 might not,