Inactive "Waiting for www.google-analytics.com..." pages won't load on my Firefox

Status
Not open for further replies.

chanlao

So this only started to happen recently where I would want to go to a site and the page goes blank and says that it is "waiting for www.google-analytics.com". It is then just stuck on that loading screen. I'm not good with computers or any of the technical stuff, but I have been searching for a solution and can't find one. Could someone please help me?

Do you have the Google Toolbar on Firefox? If you do, click on the wrench on the right end of the Toolbar> Search section > Uncheck 'Send Usage statistics to Google'.

No, I have the built-in search bar. There's no wrench. Oh, and when I clicked a link a separate window popped up with "gugle-analytics" I don't know if that changes anything though. Thanks in advance.

Give this Firefox add-on a try: Ghostery 2.3.1> HERE

It blocks over 200 web-tracking agencies from gathering information on your internet use. This includes Google Analytics. It updates itself weekly to keep 'one step ahead' of the trackers.

Ah, thank you! It works, but I'm wondering if this actually gets to the root of the problem and stops it. Because sometimes I'll get a pop-up with gugle-analytics when visiting a page or link that is not related to my search. Is this not some sort of virus?

I'm not sure if this is related, but when I'm using the google search engine and I click one of the results it brings me to a page completely unrelated to what I searched.

You are misspelling this- right? gugle-analytics I don't think the analytics is a matter of malware. It appears that it can be used in a business environment to track traffic on a web site.

On the other hand, if you are using the Google search and are being redirected to a page other than what you requested, that could be caused by malware.