Wma only plays 5 sec

My girlfriend did an interview for her school exams. Its a wma file which should take 47 minutes but after the first 5 seconds it just stops playing. It doesnt give any error message or anything just stops playing. I tried audacity and vlc convert but didnt do anything helpfull. She really needs this file for school and I hope someone can help. If I need to provide more info or the file it self please let me know.

Thanks in advence.

Sounds like maybe the file got corrupted. Was it recorded on a different device then transferred to the computer for playback? Can it be played w/o issues on the device used to record the file?

I'm not an expert, but played with audio files for a couple of mods...

47 minutes - file should be about 50MB (30MB to 200MB depending on recording method) - please try to locate it and check 'properties'.

There are 4 different types of WMA file. Encoding density varies.

Make a couple of copies of the file when you find it as some players given the wrong instruction may truncate the file (I did that with audacity once).

Hi rabbit no it doesnt play right on the recorder any more either she deleted it from the recorder after transfering it to her pc found it wasnt working on her pc and after transfering it back to recorder it does the same as on pc plays first 5 seconds and nothing after that. really hope someone can help she is freaking out and driving me crazy thx

Hi cycloid the file is only 11 mb if that helps and she just send me a working wma made by same recorder which is 9,6 mb and takes 41 minutes. if that is helpfull

From wikipedia:
"Windows Media Audio Voice[edit]