Facebook is experimenting with a new set of tools that’ll make it easier for all parties involved to move forward following a breakup. Starting today, when a breakup occurs and people change their relationship status, the social network will prompt them with a few different options.

As Facebook Product Manager Kelly Winters explains, users can elect to see less of a former partner’s name and profile picture around Facebook without having to unfriend or block them. Conversely, you’ll be able to limit the photos, videos or status updates that a former partner will see.

What’s more, users will be able to edit who can see their past posts with a former partner and even untag themselves from posts involving that person all at once (or by individual post, if you choose).

Regardless of what options you select, Facebook won’t alert the other person of the changes (although I’m sure they’d notice if you suddenly disappeared from their feed). That’s probably the best course of action, especially if a former couple share mutual friends. After all, nobody wants to make their friends choose sides, so to speak.

Facebook says the new relationship tools are rolling out as of today in the US for mobile users. Based on user feedback, they’ll make changes as necessary and expand the rollout from there.