An Android User’s Take on the iPhone

learninmypc

I started using Android with the original Motorola Droid back in 2009, and I’ve been a hardcore Android user ever since. Four months ago, I got an iPhone 8 and have been using it alongside my main Android phone. This is an Android user’s take on using the iPhone.

While this isn’t my first experience with iOS, it is my first time using an iPhone in any real capacity. Prior to this, I had an iPad Mini for a couple of years (that I really liked), and an iPhone 5S that was only used for testing—it never even had a SIM card in it. FULL ARTICLE

This will have an emotional response I am sure, B U T

a tightly controlled platform has advantages to the developer AND the customer:
  • a consistent look and feel
  • a better security posture
while the downside as Andriod and Windows users love to point out is the cost.

With the Android open system from Google, it's
  • hard to tell who owns what components (hardware here and software from x,y,z... who knows)
  • harder for the software variations to stay in sync with the Google base maintenance
  • and far too prevalent that fixes don't even get applied.
IMO, that's a big price to pay for getting root access and a lower purchase price.

Just my $0.02

Just like you said it, it's all about the apps. I don't mind using either of these OSs, but since I have more experience with Android, and I'm more used to it, I will continue using that for now. Thanks for the insight (y)

I don't know what it is, but I get this feeling of 'refinement' on iOS that I can't find on Android phones. The moment you pick one up and play around you can just feel it and makes the experience feel more premium and is the reason I've recently switched over to iPhones.