BSOD - c000021a - 0xc000003a

mom9497

I hope someone can help me with this. I'm a newbie and not computer savvy so please bare with me. Our Dell laptop m1530 (Vista) is showing a BSOD with the following message...stop: c000021a (fatal system error). The session prefixes system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0xc000003a (0x00000000 0x00000000). The system has been shut down. This happened suddenly while surfing on Google Chrome. The system just froze so we tried rebooting it and got the BSOD.
I have tried Repair your computer, running it in safe mode and Last Good Configuration with no success. All it does is show a blue screen with writing on it for a split second, reboots itself and then back to BSOD. I've tried running the original reinstallation DVD that came with the laptop but that doesn't seem to work either. The disc loads and then just hangs on a black screen with a white cursor. I've also tried removing and putting back the hard drive and ram sticks, but no luck.
Does anyone have any suggestions on what I can try next or if this problem is even fixable. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

The Windows installation is probably corrupt, and with all the updates, program installations, and deletions, and temp files over time, the re-installation DVD is useless now. Also, the hard drive may be dying. I can imagine that this laptop is over 5 years old

Thanks for your reply Tmagic650. Yes, this laptop is in fact 6 years old. I run scans regularly (pc tools registry mechanic, spybot search and destroy, and AVG). Is this problem correctable? Would replacing the hard drive help?

"Would replacing the hard drive help?"... Yes because it would cause you to install Windows fresh and ensure that the hard drive was okay. Upgrading to Windows 7 would be a wise move too

Hi Mom9497,