Building my first computer

crc9786

Just want to do it so I can say I did. I am leaning toward a gaming configuration, nothing ridiculous but if I'm gonna take the time to do it I want it to be reliable. I have settled on a cooler master case and I'm going with AMD processor not sure exactly which one yet. Anyway my first question is what size PSU should I be looking for? Any recommendations on any other parts welcome. Thanks.

If your unsure of an AMD processor to go by maybe the 1055t? £155
or you could go for a quad core (620,630,635) £70ish

I am going to get it a piece at a time for research value, so price isn't my main concern, lets just say since this is my first build I don't want to be extravagant. Maybe 600 or 700 total, less is better. And I want at least 512 dedicated video.

to be honest why not look at techspots guide to buying a new pc 2010?
TBH, I actually didn't like it that much.
EDIT: I meant that I think its terrible ATM.

I am going to get it a piece at a time for research value, so price isn't my main concern, lets just say since this is my first build I don't want to be extravagant. Maybe 600 or 700 total, less is better. And I want at least 512 dedicated video.
Thats great, you mean USD right?

EVGA 01G-P3-1370-TR GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
AMD Athlon II X3 440 Rana 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Desktop Processor ADX440WFGIBOX
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL7D-4GBRM
CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
ASUS M4A87TD/USB3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 AMD Motherboard

That should total about $550, leaving the rest for case/hdds/os/peripherals.

yeah USD, thanks for the links, will take a look at the guide and probably post some questions later

moving on to graphics....