Cannot See External USB HDD in 'My Computer'?

Status
Not open for further replies.
HEY GUYS NEWBIE HERE!!!

I Cannot See External USB HDD in 'My Computer'?
I have just bought an external HDD Enclosure from Ebay. I have plugged in both USB cords (i beleive the caddy has two cords due to the power required). Then the little ballon pops up on the bottome right of my screen saying my new hardware is installed and ready to use. NOW this is where i get confused, there is no additional drive in 'My Computer' . In the Device manager, under 'Disk Drives' the device is shown as 'Generic External USB Device'. HOW do i get to access the files that are on my external drive?? (the drive comes from a laptop i have with a broken screen so as far as i know the HDD is in good condition) I have been reading up on the net about this issue and the consensus is that i have to assign a drive letter, when i try to do this, it asks me to initialize the disk, i have noot done this as i beleive initialize means 'wipe it clean and start again' which i do not want to do...I NEED THE FILES ON THE DISK........................PLEASE HELP ME :)

Thanks everyone in advance!!!!
I

Watch the balloons - It appears that the USB enclosure is recognized, but there is no indication that the HDD is recognized. Try different positions for the jumper (master/slave). Check polarity of the cables/cords.

I cannot seem to see any jumper on the HDD ?? It comes out of a laptop and is a Hitachi 'HTS541080G9SA00' . Im not sure what the polarity of a cable means?

I am a fossil. My enclosure is for IDE drives. The connector is not keyed. This permits either orientation for the IDE connection (polarity) or a misalignment of the connection.

Issue 1: What current is required by the HDD? USB hubs typically are limited to 500mA. Beyond that, get a powered USB hub.
https://www.techspot.com/vb/topic31601.html

Issue 2: Your HDD is SATA - do you have the needed driver? "Jumper" does not apply.
HTS541080G9SA00