Correct way of converting from FAT32 to NTFS?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a novice with a lot of computer books. :) I have a FAT32, 53 GB, C drive partition, Volume Label: ACER. I wish to convert it to an NTFS. I have read that to do this correctly and to prevent the MFT from becoming fragmented, that I must first create a new contiguous placeholder file equal to the expected size of the MFT I want to create. My readings told me: "The default size of the MFT equals 12.5 percent of the partition size. If the partition is larger than 40 GB, use 4 GB as the MFT size because FAT drives cannot have a file larger than 4 GB. Use the Fsutil command. Use the following syntax: fsutil createnew c:\testfile.txt (and the size of the placeholder file here, no parentheses). You can use any legal file name." I understand that 4 GB equals 4,294,967,296 bytes. I am over my head here, so I do not know the simple things, for example, where the book said "c:\testfile.txt ", is that literally what I am supposed to type? When it says, "You can use any legal file name." I wish the book had told me exactly what file name to use for this specific purpose. When inputting the size of the placeholder file in bytes, do I include the commas? Should I round down the file size, so as to avoid going beyond the allowed 4 GB size by a few bytes and having the operation fail? I would like for you to please tell me exactly what to type into the command prompt window. Then when I have created the placeholder file, I would like you to, please, tell me exactly what to type in the command window to carry out the conversion from FAT32 to NTFS. Please used the file name that you told me to use when I created the placeholder file, etc. I really don't know these things. :eek: One book said to follow this syntax: convert c: /fs:ntfs /cvtarea:testfile.txt Another book said to follow this syntax: CONVERT <volume> /FS:NTFS [/V] [/X] [/CvtArea: <filename>] [/NoSecurity] on this last book, I haven't go