Could you please recommend a new Linux distro

Leeky

Hello techspot members. :)

I've been using Ubuntu for about 5-6 years now, but I fancy more of a challenge - I feel I've gone about as far with Ubuntu as I can, and the novice type approach to everything is getting tiresome now unfortunately.

So with this in mind, what would members recommend to replace Ubuntu with? I don't mind spending hours configuring a new linux distro, and learning new things (thats the whole point of this exercise!).

With my IT degree starting in September I would like to broaden my knowledge. I'm not too sure I'm ready for the massive work required to configure something like Slackware, but I'm looking for something in-between this and Ubuntu.

I also prefer the gnome desktop, KDE is just too in your face and I just don't like it. lol. The computer being used for it is in my spec's, and it would need to be 64bit as well.

So what would you all recommend, and why?

Thanks in advance. :)

Try a stage 2 tarball of Gentoo - and if you feel that's not challenging enough you can move on down. You may even want to start from a live DVD just so you can see how everything behaves precompiled.

Thanks for the advice. :)

I was considering Gentoo, but I wasn't sure if it was a step too far. I'll download the Live and have a look I think. :D

I've decided to bite the bullet and install Slackware instead. I think I'm going to miss my Ubuntu though, but onwards and upwards.

Hopefully Slackware will give me the experience I crave for. I'm just about to install it now. :D

but surely you should have a variety of distros installed in a virtual space of your choice with old familiar ubuntu as host :)

I could have done, as I already use Virtualbox for a couple of OS installs I use. But the thing I love about VB is I can use the same software between both my linux and Windows installation. It comes in very handy when I need to use them!