Crashed Hard Drive?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I want to first start off saying I have little to no experience dealing with hard drives and how they function. I have a Sony VAIO laptop that I purchased almost a year ago. My one year old daughter pulled my laptop off of the table onto the floor and now it was telling me that it cannot read disk press ctrl+alt+delete to restart over and over. I did troubleshooting with Sony but because the computer wouldnt get to their recovery screen they said my data was lost. I'm in desperate need of my data as all the financial info for my company is on it (via QB, not backed up!!).

I took the hard drive out of the computer and got a 2.5 SATA External case and hooked it up to a working computer and started downloading every data recovery software that was free to try to retrieve data. Only one worked and it got....none of the files I need! What it managed to get I dont even understand! So after that I hooked it up to my dell laptop in an attempt to use KNOPPIX. I managed to make the KNOPPIX disk and get to the I guess KNOPPIX screen but I didnt have a clue what to do next. The working laptops hard drive showed up, the external hard drive I was going to use to transfer any recovered data to showed up, but the crashed hard drive didnt. Hooking the crashed hard drive in to the working laptop did however pull up a screen saying that my disks needed to be checked for errors. It scanned the crashed hard drive twice and started deleting and fixing stuff but the compter still didnt recognize the drive upon startup.