Do I need a case fan?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Forums,

Im building a Mediacenter (HTPC) and have gotten a nice hardware configuration together:

Asus P5K SE
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 2.67GHz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro P
4GB DDR2 800MHz PC2-6400
Seagate 500GB HD 7200 SATAII/3
Inno3D Nvidia Geforce 8400GS (256MB)
NorthQ 500W Fanless ODB PSU

I have assembled everything in an old PC case that have a pre installed case fan, which makes a lot of noise. I am wondering what would be the best way to deal with this noise issue. Would I need it at all - can I unplug it? Or should I play it safe, and go look for a low noise replacement?

I am not a hardware expert - and was in doubt if this is the correct forum... for my cooling issue?

Hope someone can help out.

Soeren

I wouldn't go without any fan at all. You can replace it with a quieter one. Compare the decibel ratings of the different fans to get one that is relatively quiet. If your case permits fitting a larger fan, they will move the same or more air at a lower RPM which equals less noise. There are adjustable speed fans too so you can minimize noise. However, adequate cooling is the first priority.

mailpup said:
I wouldn't go without any fan at all. You can replace it with a quieter one. Compare the decibel ratings of the different fans to get one that is relatively quiet. If your case permits fitting a larger fan, they will move the same or more air at a lower RPM which equals less noise. There are adjustable speed fans too so you can minimize noise. However, adequate cooling is the first priority.

Thanks, I appreciate. Will look for an adjustable fan.
Soeren

Agreed that you shouldn't run without an exhaust fan. Yes, your PSU likely has one in some form, but that won't be sufficient.

You'd be well suited to grab an intake and an exhaust if the case allows. You need to determine whether you cause use 120mm or only 80mm (or the rarer 92mm).