Does anyone have experience with iolo System Mechanic? Words of advice?

UnluckyComp

Hello, I'm a newbie and a poorly educated one at that. Though I am young my experience with personal computers in general can be limited to the past five years of my life and it hasn't been the most joyful one at times. But I am hoping to learn from this community and make my future ventures in technology wiser. I'm starting with this topic since I haven't been able to find much information on my own.
I purchased iolo System Mechanic Professional through Dell at a vulnerable time when my XPS 1330 was dying and was told it would keep my laptop safer than anything else. Foolishly I bought the three year, three computer subscription, and at first I was pleased with it. The program seemed independent, easy and smooth functioning, perfect for a novice. Of course after the month long refund period I begin experiencing issues.
System Mechanic 9, 10, and now version 11 have at times randomly stopped working at times, giving my error messages about not being able to start Systemservice when I manually try to open them. This has occurred every few months, and iolo's solution has always been to remove and reinstall the program. This is bad within itself, but the fact that I receive NO Warning when the program quits results in the disaster of me running around without antivirus until I realize it's dead and I'm infected. Thus I have to go through virus removal as well, praying my computers won't fry. I am a book writer and a digital artist so this is a real nightmare every time.