Dual-boot Ubuntu-Windows 7 reinstall, can't boot GRUB goes into rescue mode

Lokalaskurar

Ok, so I have a computer with Windows 7 (64-bit Home) originally installed. Worked fine and all. So I installed Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx (64-bit) and selected to dual-boot on startup. Always worked until yesterday, when I restored my Windows 7 to factory settings.

Grub does not show me a menu, instead it goes into rescue mode.
Probably because I screwed up a partition via the Windows 7 restore or so :( .

After the 'rescue' command 'ls', I can see:
(hd0) (hd0,5) (hd0,3) (hd0,2) (hd0,1)

My Problem:
I need to know what to type into the 'Rescue Prompt' in order to boot up Windows 7. I know that the Grub needs to be fixed from within Ubuntu, I will also need help with how to access Ubuntu again in order to do that (fixmbr and fixboot unless I'm mistaken).

I am not very experienced with Linux, only been at it for a year or so.

Also; selecting from the BIOS to 'Boot from CD' does not boot from CD. I'm planning to remove the HDD altogether in order to force this command if no TechSpot heroes saves me :) .

Ah, superb piece of information. If this works, you have saved my a lot of money.

The tutorial which you've so conveniently found (thanks, btw) does mention some actions I'm not really familiar with.

I think I'm using GRUB 2... I fresh-installed Ubuntu 10 (Lucid Lynx), since it's a later version than Karmic (9.10) - I'll presume I'm using GRUB 2.

But: I cannot find my Ubuntu partition, no matter how hard I try.

I only have WINDOWS (C:\) and Data (D:\) mountable. Any suggestions?

Yes, you're using GRUB2.

How many hard disks does you're computer have, and what exactly used to be you're partitions? e.g. did Linux share the same physical disk with W7?

Linux shared the same physical disk as Win7.