1. TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users. Ask a question and give support. Join the community here.
    TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users.
    Ask a question and give support.
    Join the community here, it only takes a minute.
    Dismiss Notice

Facebook adds unsend feature to Messenger

By Shawn Knight · 4 replies
Feb 5, 2019
Post New Reply
  1. The social network came under fire last April when it was discovered that CEO Mark Zuckerberg and other executives seemingly had the power to delete their messages from users’ inboxes. Normally, when someone deletes a message from a conversation (like via e-mail), it’s only done so locally, and the other party retains a copy.

    Because Facebook controls the entire communications channel with Messenger, certain executives were able to delete all copies of messages. Critically, Facebook never bothered to tell the public about this ability.

    Shortly after, Facebook said it would be building an unsend feature for everyone. It’s taken nearly 10 months but said feature is now available to everyone on Android and iOS.

    To remove a message, simply tap it and select the “Remove for Everyone” option. You will have up to 10 minutes to remove an unintended message after sending it.

    Curiously, there’s also the option to “Remove for You” which will only remove a message from your view, not everyone else in the chat. Try as I might, I can’t think of a scenario where this would be useful. If you're into Facebook communications you may also want to try their Messenger Lite.

    Lead image courtesy pathdoc via Shutterstock

    Permalink to story.

     
  2. psycros

    psycros TS Evangelist Posts: 2,618   +2,353

    Don't people know that only the highest ranking members of the Party have an off switch for the telescreen?
     
    Lew Zealand likes this.
  3. ckm88

    ckm88 TS Booster Posts: 85   +53

    Meh. Facebook still knows every message you send, archive it somewhere, and share it with the government! Yay!
     
  4. redhat

    redhat TS Member Posts: 32   +19

    And what will happen if you remove the MSG for yourself by mistake, will be able to remove it for everyone later on or not ???
     
  5. H3llion

    H3llion TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,664   +424

    Dw you not that important.
     

Add your comment to this article

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...