Five-Way AMD Radeon R9 280X Benchmark Battle

Steve

Staff member
Read the full article at:
[newwindow=https://www.techspot.com/review/841-radeon-r9-280x-roundup/]https://www.techspot.com/review/841-radeon-r9-280x-roundup/[/newwindow]

Please leave your feedback here.

The first thing I look in a graphics card comparative is not the best FPS or overclock capability, it's the NOISE at different work loads and sadly this article even had not mention to it. Next time I would like you test it, please.

The first thing I look in a graphics card comparative is not the best FPS or overclock capability, it's the NOISE at different work loads and sadly this article even had not mention to it. Next time I would like you test it, please.

Then buy a card with passive cooling, or buy one separate and install it. Otherwise, nVidia cards would be a better bet, they are quieter. I've been using MSI GTX 780 for 1 years now, and it is incredibly quiet, I can't hear it at all.

P.S. That link is for Ti card, but I'm using the basic 780, not Ti, same design though, not on sale at present.

Good review.
But I have to agree with what was stated before.
Main difference between the cards is the cooler and how it behaves.
Performance wise, any 280X is a 280X and will offer the same performance ( slight margin allowed).
OC potential is relative, it could be related to a specific card.
What sets them the most apart is the cooler :
- size
- temperatures
- noise

Let's hope you'll measure noise in future tests.
Thanks for the review!

Thanks for the read. Authoritative and comprehensive as always.