Gaming PC vs. Normal Desktop

Status
Not open for further replies.
What do I compromise when I get a gaming PC instead of a normal to high-spec desktop PC?

Also, say I had found a nice PC that I was seriously contemplating on buying, how easy would it be to components of similar/same quality and have someone custom build me a PC? Would it be cheaper? More expensive?

(I'm sorry, I'm new here and so don't have a wealth of knowledge, hence why I chose to seek advise here)

Thanks. =]

EDIT:

I'm from the UK but I'd be most likely purchasing online.

Specs:
As high as possible for the budget of rougly £500 to £8/900.

Thanks again. Sorry for the lack of information, but I hope it's enough for some idea of how much I could get and for what price.

Hey there.

I'm not an expert by any means, but hopefully I can give you a push towards a viable direction.

First off, please state what the specs of the system you were looking are to help us.

Second, you can go to a few online sites to check and see how much each part costs.

Third, depending on if you know someone who can help or even put the system together, or if you'd take it to a store, price for putting it together can vary.

Fourth, what's your budget like? I got some help when building my brother's computer and having a set budget really helps others look at some alternatives to give you more bang for your buck.

Fifth, where are you purchasing the computer from? Canada, USA, or somewhere else? At a physical store or online?

For your first question, I don't think you'd be compromising anything much, but depends on the computers you are looking at and what your needs would be. I think that usually gaming computers tend to be closer to the higher end, specially if you want to be playing the latest and more intensive games out there. I'd use Crysis to test the capability of any gaming computer ( least for now). Can see what the maximum settings are that you can run it on.