1. TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users. Ask a question and give support. Join the community here.
    TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users.
    Ask a question and give support.
    Join the community here, it only takes a minute.
    Dismiss Notice

Google rolls out auto-deletion tools for your location history

By Polycount · 4 replies
Jun 26, 2019
Post New Reply
  1. Following several serious data breaches and controversies in the tech industry over the past couple years, one of the biggest data collection giants out there -- Google -- has been forced to walk on eggshells.

    Perhaps as an attempt to avoid any future controversies, the company has proactively begun to offer its customers much more control over how their data is used -- you can control what Google services are allowed to harvest your information or even delete stored data entirely.

    However, what if you're okay with Google collecting some of your data for the sake of using its services, but you aren't a huge fan of letting the tech giant retain said data forever? In May, Google addressed that dilemma by offering its users a toggle that, when switched on, can automatically delete your web and app activity data every three or 18 months.

    That tool was pretty handy for anyone who tends to forget to clear their data regularly, and now it's being expanded to cover location history as well. "Auto-delete controls for Location History start rolling out today on Android and iOS, making it even easier for you to manage your data," Google announced in a tweet.

    Accessing these new controls is fairly easy. Just open up your Google Account settings on a mobile device and open up the privacy section -- these new tools should be visible today, or in the near future, depending on how quickly Google rolls them out.

    Image credit: Search Engine Land

    Permalink to story.

     
  2. ShagnWagn

    ShagnWagn TS Guru Posts: 848   +652

    How about this... Do not track by default. Crazy idea I know.

    Then let people opt-in for x number of day storage if they want to help you for # reasons.
     
  3. hahahanoobs

    hahahanoobs TS Evangelist Posts: 2,618   +940

    Tracking where you are and what you look at and how much you spend is where the money is. Google would never turn it off by default.
     
  4. Nobina

    Nobina TS Evangelist Posts: 2,044   +1,560

    I don't trust them to delete my data from their servers. They are so scummy I wouldn't be surprised if they kept the data but told you it's deleted.
     
    wildrage and ShagnWagn like this.
  5. MaXtor

    MaXtor TS Maniac Posts: 272   +221

    All it does is automatically flag your data for review by the NSA. :p
     

Add your comment to this article

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...