HDD whirring noise & system slowdown

vanderluzt

Hi,

I am a novice here, so do excuse any technical inaccuracies in reporting this problem. First, let me specify my system configuration and then the problem.

My system configuration is as below:

AMD Athlon II X3 440 Processor 3.00 GHz on MSI 880GMA-E45 motherboard with 4 GB (2X2 GB) Kingston DDR3 RAM. My OS is Windows 7 Ultimate Ed. 32bit.

Now, I have three HDDs installed inside the CPU, the CMOS setup details of which are as below:

IDE Primary Master: Seagate (ST 380011A) 80 GB capacity
IDE Primary Slave: Samsung (SV 2042H) 20.4 GB capacity
SATA 1: Hewlett Packard DVD Writer 1260d ATAPI
SATA 2: Western Digital WDC (WDS000AADS - 00S9B0) 500 GB capacity

The WDC (Western Digital SATA 2) drive is my main HDD, the most recent one bought and installed on September 2010. The OS Windows 7 is installed on the C: partition of this drive and my system boots from this drive. I've created three partitions on this drive as follows:
C - 50 GB (approx)
D - 225 GB (approx)
E - 225 GB (approx)

The IDE drives are old HDDs that I was using around 2003 in an old system and are filled with important data [movies,mp3s, ebooks, official docs,etc]. They contain no OS/system files. The Samsung IDE drive has 3 partitions while the Seagate IDE drive has no partitions.

So effectively, my HDD structure on Windows Explorer in my computer looks as below:

C: [WDC SATA partition 1]
D: [WDC SATA partition 2]
E: [WDC SATA partition 3]
F: [DVD Writer]
G: [Seagate IDE partition 1]
H: [Seagate IDE partition 2]
I: [Seagate IDE partition 3]
J: [Samsung IDE]

Now here's the problem: