Help choosing a distro

HiDDeNMisT

I want to dual boot Win 7 Ultimate with a linux destro as I am a computer tech but i don't know how to use linux.

From my reserch there are many different versions of this and i don't know which would be beneficial to me.

I need one that will fulfill my needs as a Tech. I really dont want a watered down version of this OS.

Can you guys help me out thx in advance

I think you'll find the folks at Cobra are uninterested in linux. Seriously though, as far as linux DISTROs go you can't really go wrong with Ubuntu. It's simple, easy to use, and as useful as you make it. It's a debian based distro which means along with being able to compile your own stuff you can always use the many .deb packages already available. You'll also love apt-get once you get used to it and Synaptic Package Manager makes it simple to find apps to use as well.

Think of Linux as a packet of crisps (chips if your American!)...... They always contain potatoes... Its just the flavour that changes. Well essentially, Linux is the potatoes, and the flavour is the distribution.

If your new to Linux try Linux Mint. Ubuntu's Unity is not in the best interests of anyone trying to learn Linux in my opinion as it gives a totally misrepresented experience. It is also more usable out of the box for a newbie.

Apt-get, aptitude and Synaptic are all present in Linux Mint.

Out of bone idle curiosity, what are your needs that need to be "fulfilled" in a Linux OS?

With Windows we normally only see the Desktop/Client system. The server side (Windows 200{0,3,8} Server) is a whole other system (and is expensive).

If you are interested in web servers, email servers and/or DNS, then be sure your
selection contains those components. I've been partial to Redhat, which became Fedora. The Ubuntu distribution also has the server components and there's a lot that can be learned from them.