Help on adding second SSD

death791

Hey all im finally running out of room on my 256gb Crucial M4 SSD, and it is time to add a second one. I plan on going with the same ssd for my second storage device and I was seeing if anyone could give me like a step by step guide on how to setup a second hard drive seeing I have never done it before. thanks!

What type of computer? desktop/laptop
What is the make/model/serial??
PC or Mac?
Is there room in this computer for an additional drive?
Is there open SATA ports in the system for an additional drive?

These are MUST answer questions for someone to be able to give you steps in installing an additional SSD. Especially the type & make/model/serial.

Just add it to your system then boot into Windows and format the SSD before using it. There are no additional steps to follow really, and no special instructions you need to follow in order for it to work. Just add it like you would a normal hard drive.

Before you spend so much money on a SSD however, you need to decide if its worth it. If you're running out of space on a 256GB SSD then you'd be better off looking at the way you're using it.

Documents, music, videos, other personal files and games really do not need to be stored on an SSD. For these a traditional 7,200RPM hard drive with multiple TB of storage is a far better idea.

I still have two sata III ports open on my motherboard, im currently running one 256gb Crucial M4 SSD on my desktop and I have my OS, windows updates and all my games installed on it atm, I just planned on going with one more 256gb Crucial M4 SSD to finish off my PC beucase it will be more then enough space for this gaming setup. Btw the PC that I am building is for just PC gaming only so I just wanted the fastest storage drives I could get with my budget, I wont be using this desktop for music, pictures etc.. I have another system I use for that.