Help with setting up Fans

Ztraider

Hello all,

I need help to set up fans because I'm new with this. My motherboard is Biostar a780l3l and has a SYS_FAN1. Do I put one fan there? Do I need just one fan or more? My case has 3 spots to put fans on, 2 on the side and one from behind.
Or do I put one fan in the motherboard and other 2 in the PSU?
If I only need one fan do I put it in the motherboard or PSU?
I'll upload my dxdiag just in case.

Attachments

• DxDiag.txt
    45.7 KB · Views: 1
It does not really matter how or where you hook fans up unless you want to be able to control the speeds via the motherboard or if the fans have built in fan controllers (Like switches on them for high and low).

The only spot you definintly need hooked up (Unless your using a fan controller) is the CPU fan one since im assuming your not using a fan controller. IMO, you should hook up to the motherboard because the system will decide on fan speeds for you.

The direction of airflow is important. Naturally you wouldn't want a push and pull effect in the same location. This would only serve to circulate hot air. The idea is to expunge hot air, not circulate it back into the case.
does the quality of fan REALLY matter or can I use the most cheap ones?
The quality of fan is important, cheaper fans may or may not have a long lifespan.

The direction of airflow is important. Naturally you wouldn't want a push and pull effect in the same location. This would only serve to circulate hot air. The idea is to expunge hot air, not circulate it back into the case.

Sorry, but can you tell me where to put the fan then? I have 3 places on my case, 2 are on the side (first one is in front of CPU, 2nd one is in front of GPU, if you understand what I mean) and the 3rd place is below PSU. I mean how to install that fan... inside or outside of case or something else?