High cpu usage then shut down now wont restart

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good afternoon I could really use some help im no expert but I think I have a big problem..

A week ago my system started acting strange, the CPU usage would be at 40% - 70%++ with nothing running. In system manager under processes everything looked normal with the system idle at 90-95% with the task manager taking the other 5% or so but if I look under performance it constantly shows the CPU usage at 40% or more.

I ran AVG anti virus,ad-aware,ad-watch zone alarm and Amust registry cleaner and they cleaned out some files but did not fix the problem. I then used system restore to bring everything back a month which seemed to help a little but not much. So i then de-fragmented the drive
which took almost 24 hours and after i searched the drive for errors which took another 48 hours.

This went on for a little over a week with a few shut downs here and there. As if this was not bad enough 2 nights ago I was trying to get on the net and open winamp at the same time and again the CPU usage went through the roof, only that this time the computer shut down and will not turn back on at all. I opened it up and all I see is the green light on the mobo but thats it no fan no noise nothing.

I would need some suggestions and maybe some ways of testing the individual components. Im hopping its the power button or the PSU and not the mobo cpu or HD.

Please get back to me soon ,
Thanks in advance Josh

Replace the power supply first... Then you could try disconnecting the hard drive and see if the system posts. Don't concern yourself with the CPU yet. If you still get no response, the motherboard might have died