Installing XP Pro on a SATA HDD

Wesablo

Hey, I wasn't sure where to post this but I was just about to replace my supposed broken SATA main drive with a new one, and I have to format it with my Windows XP Pro again. A friend helped me install it the first time, so not positive with all the steps but as far as I understand it there is a special order or procedure that must be done with this particular setup (XP Pro on a SATA drive), which is different than a regular HDD. I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to this stuff, but I have a general idea of it all. I'm not sure if it has to do with the RAID setup, but I was just wondering what I need to change or set to format this correctly.

Thanks,
~Wes

Near the beginning of Windows Setup you will have to install SATA controller drivers at the F6 prompt. You will need a floppy drive and diskette for this to work. If this PC is the one in your system specs, it is old enough so you just might have a floppy drive. Prepare the floppy diskette by using the motherboard CD or by downloading the appropriate driver files from Gigabyte's website: Click here If you don't have your motherboard manual, you can download it at this same webpage.

After installing the driver files from the floppy, at the appropriate time follow the prompts and complete the installation of the SATA driver files. If done correctly, Windows Setup will recognize the SATA hard drive, let you format it, partition it if you want and continue with the installation of Windows.

Ok thanks, one question though - are the mobo drivers the only sata ones I need, or are there other drivers for other hardware I would need as well?

You only need SATA drivers if you are installing and OEM verions of Windows XP and not from a Recovery or restore disk.
You should not have to expect any troubles with anything else... easiest if your format it separately, before you install Windows XP