Keeping my Asus G51 cool

JesseM

I've had my Asus G51 for a little over a year now, and have been fully aware of its overheating issue. With only this webpage open and no other programs running except SpeedFan, the GPU temp rises until the fan kicks in at 89C.

All this wasn't too big of an issue in the past until I started playing the Crysis 2 demo. My hardware can run the game just fine, looks very smooth, but my GPU really starts heating up. While playing Crysis 2 windowed at 720p and lowest video settings, my GTX 260m will fairly quickly reach 102C and will top off at ~107C with the fan blowing full speed.

Just today I drilled 7 small holes in the infamous fake vent on the bottom of the G51 case, and it didn't seem to make any difference at all.

Ambient room temperature is around 64F (18C) so that shouldn't be an issue. The laptop is on a wooden desk with the back propped up.

I'm considering buying/making a laptop cooling pad, but I'd really prefer to try to further mod the case of this thing to cool it off. It seems like people have been very successful with the case mod but for some reason it isn't doing the trick for me. I drilled much smaller holes, which could be part of the problem, but I still expected to see at least a few degrees of difference with any holes at all. Before I cut a huge hole in the bottom of my laptop, does anyone have any other ideas? I'm worried that cutting the entire fake vent off will keep the other components from getting cool, fresh air.

Please help!