1. TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users. Ask a question and give support. Join the community here.
    TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users.
    Ask a question and give support.
    Join the community here, it only takes a minute.
    Dismiss Notice


By TechF
Apr 16, 2010
  1. Hello, everyone.
    What is 1 full pass of the memtest86? How do you determine or gonna know when 1 full pass of the test has completed? I would appreciate an answer to this question that i really need to know.
  2. dividebyzero

    dividebyzero trainee n00b Posts: 4,840   +1,267

    When you use the normal test sequence of Memtest86 it will run through eight seperate tests.
    You will see the individual test being used in the upper right corner of the screen.
    Test 0 - Address test, walking ones, no cache
    Test 1 - Address test, own address
    Test 2 - Moving inversions, ones and zero's
    Test 3 - Moving inversions, 8 bit wide pattern
    Test 4 - Moving inversions, random pattern
    Test 5 - Block move, 64 moves
    Test 6 - Moving inversions, 32 bit
    Test 7 - Random number sequence
    Test 8 - Modulo 20, ones and zero's.

    Once all eight test have been completed you will see (about mid screen) "Pass" (third from the end before "Errors" and "ECC Err(or)s") under that will be the number of successful passes you have run. There will also be a notification below that to the same effect.
    Screenshot here: http://www.memtest.org/pics/i875-big.gif

    There is also a ninth test. From the release notes:
    Hope this helps you out.
  3. Route44

    Route44 TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 11,974   +74

    DBZ beat me to it!

    Hi TechF and welcome to the forums. Because the nature of the question is more for the General Hardware forum the mods will most likely to their or the Applications forum.

    Anyway, here is the answer:

    1. There are 8 individual tests per one Pass.

    2. Once it has cycled through it will begin with Test 1 all the way through 8 and thus completing Pass number 2, and so on.

    3. People make the mistake believing it just is repeating the same patterns in the 8 Tests but this is not true. The test is throwing a vast array of differing combinations.

    4. This is why the unwritten but very important rule of a minimum of 7 Passes is essential. And the more the better.

    * It takes a long time but well worth it; start it a couple hours before going to bed and check it the next morning. Any errors and you have corrupted memory that must be replaced.
  4. TechF

    TechF TS Rookie Topic Starter

    Thank you Dividebyzero and Rout44 for your helpful answers. Appreciated
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add your comment to this article

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...