Microsoft is out of step with desktop users

Charles Ingram

I used Windows 7 a year BEFORE it was released and loved it still do, but touch screens and Windows 8 are the wrong direction. I have never used an Apple desktop, but I will before I go touch screen and Windows 8. I just tried to buy a new 27 inch all in one with a high resolution monitor but only Windows 8 and touch screen are sold leaving only Apple to supply what I want. And they wonder why PC sales are in the pits!

I use Win 8 Pro with "Start8" program to boot me right to the desktop and supply start menu. Delete metro apps. I like the hybrid of Win 8 with the menu of Win 7. Win 8 has some nice under the hood changes and I still have some of the Win 8 features just not the metro full screen stuff. Only thing I miss is Aero desktop. Most powerful cpu's and gpu's ever and MS is trying to sell the flat ugly look as "Modern". Glad I have 8 tho..

I use Win 8 Pro with "Start8" program to boot me right to the desktop and supply start menu. Delete metro apps. I like the hybrid of Win 8 with the menu of Win 7. Win 8 has some nice under the hood changes and I still have some of the Win 8 features just not the metro full screen stuff. Only thing I miss is Aero desktop. Most powerful cpu's and gpu's ever and MS is trying to sell the flat ugly look as "Modern". Glad I have 8 tho..

"Flat" is the new thing according to analysts.

MS just can't seem to learn from dismal computer sales we hate what they are offering. Win 8 is a disaster, business is going Win 7.

If you stick with it there's bound to be 3rd party software available to convert the Windows 8.1 experience into a close approximation of Windows 7 or XP. It's clearly something there's a call for.

I'd like to have a W 8 just to check it out. I was checking out a W8 laptop at a local Fred Meyer but couldn't figure out how to go back after tapping a tile. I didn't have much time to kill, so I didn't return, maybe some other time. :)