My Dell Optiplex GX520 has the dreaded flashing amber light

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

Here is my computer specs:
DELL Optiplex GX520
Desktop
Windows XP Professional

This is my first time here... here is the issue... my friend gave me his computer for me to fix it. I replaced the hdd, I also reinstall the OS (Windows XP recovery disk used). Everything was fine and I let it stand there for a couple of days... maybe a week. After that I decided to get everything ready by connecting the remaining devices and closing the chassis. The computer started to show the blinking amber light. I opened the chassis again, disconnected everything and connect them one by one without luck. I also reset the battery, and changed the jumpers to the opposite ones (I inserted the pin in one side and it showed a steady amber light, in the other jumper a blinking amber light. I also switched the power surge from on to off a couple of times. The usb ports seem okay (I also removed all of my usb devices including the mouse and keyboard). The power supply was tested and it works, I also bought another ssf power supply (from Ebay... it was the same power supply by the same manufacturer, same watts and just identical). It stay with the flashing light. I don't think is the motherboard since the mobo's light is and when I replaced it with a normal power supply it works perfectly. So I don't know what's wrong... I don't think the hardware is wrong since it work with one of my power supply's from my other computer. The problem is that there is not way for me to install a normal power supply, it would be too big for the chassis... It won't fit....

optiplex gs520 oarnge light issue