Need advice on new GPU, possibly CPU

Status
Not open for further replies.

kiler1133

i have been using my current computer without upgrades for almost 5 years(dont know if thats alot O.o) Now my computer cant play all the newer gamessuch as Call of Duty MW2. I need a new video card and maybe a cpu.I have decided between 2 video cards.Which one is better and can my computer run them?

newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150469

newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127469

Also my computer is a Dell dimension E510

Thanks

Yes you're right, 5 years is a lot in terms of computers. And from searching around I found varies specs ranging from Pentium 4's to Pentium D's with a gig of RAM and on-board graphics for your E510. Either way that is an old system and even with a GPU upgrade would still slow down gaming significantly with newer games and might just be a waste of money. If you have the ability to go with an entire new build or purchase (we can help) that would be the best recommendation. You can of course provide us with your specific system info and we can try and find the best fit. But it'll still be severely gimped with modern games.

A system might be worth upgrading if its only 2, maybe 3 years old. After that, the price vs performance you get is severely reduced; its just not worth it anymore.

If your computer has a PCIe x16 slot, you can buy a new graphics card (even the latest and greatest), plug it in, and see if that helps (post a budget, we can help you find one). If you find that its still unbearably slow, its not a wasted investment, as any new computer will still accept any PCIe graphics card. This way, if it doesn't work out, you will need to fork out more for a motherboard, CPU and possibly RAM (so buy that graphics card with this in mind).

5 years ago was about the time PCIe was being introduced I think. When checking your system's specs, don't get confused between PCIe and PCI. They are two completely different things.