Need help with PC build

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello folks, I am new to the site, and am looking for some helpful advice and direction on my first PC build. (actually my second, but that was like 10 years ago!) This forum seems very friendly and informative, and I'm hoping someone can shed a little light. I have done a little bit of research, and have chosen the following so far (please remember I'm a noob at this!):

GIGABYTE GA-EP45C-UD3R LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

RAIDMAX SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEB 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Foldout MB Computer Case

Am I on the right track? Any other suggestions? I'm also curious what you would recommend for a video card. I enjoy gaming, and the wife does a lot of graphic design. Is there anything else I need? (apart from optical drives)

I also wanted to ask where the best place is in Canada to purchase components locally or online.

Many thanks in advance for your help. Cheers!

how much is your budget?
try the following links:
youtube.com/watch?v=hnj6dZAQpYA&feature=channel
youtube.com/watch?v=3JfDaR3vdQM&feature=channel

you'll find more helpful answers in his videos..

you can get a far better computer for $1500 than the one you posted. as far as a video card goes go with an ati 4870 one of the best bang for your buck video cards i know. If it were me i would get a better case and move up to a quad cpu.