New mb won't boot

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I built a new machine several months ago that had a pretty weird problem. I bought an EP35-ds3l board, TX650 PSU, Q6600 G0, and 2GB Corsair proseries memory. I installed it in a very old case I had sitting around the house because my good case was still in transit from overseas.
right after I got it all installed along with a 8800GTS 640 vid card and a single HDD, I tried to power it up. Nothing. No fans attempting to spin. No lights on the motherboard. Not a single indication that it was even plugged in. I played with the front panel connectors, I played with the 24 pin connector, triple and quadruple checked that all connectors including the 8 pin CPU power, 24 pin connector was seated, power to the graphics card was connected. Still nothing.

So I started playing with the mobo connector and with it partially installed at weird angles I could get the system to power up. It caused various issues from not fully powering up, to fragging the MBR, to full boots with no issues. Once its powered up, the system runs beautifully. No crashed, no indicators at all that there was even an issue with the system. As long and I didnt shut down, I could restart the system.