Newbie builder... video card/motherboard compatability

This is my first time building a computer. All I knew before was you push a button and it comes. BUt I bought StarCraft 2 two weeks ago and found my ancient laptop doesn't even come close to plying the game on its lowest settings. So I'm crazy enough to drop several hundred bones to play it, but i can't afford a brand new pc. So here's my motherboard lineup: Intel Desktop DP55WB with an Intel i5 750 processor. Research has told me that Intel boards are ATI while others such as Nvidia are SLI, which is set up to run multiple video cards. However, my video card, recommended by a Blizzard tech, is a GeForce GTX 260 put out by BFG. It's a PCIe 2.0 while the motherboard is PCIe 1.0, yet with a single PCIe x16 card bus. Need I worry about SLI/ATI, or is it just jargon for the more hardcore folks? Both card and board are DDR3. Need I worry about memory speed compatability--card vs board, or is that important just for RAM? I'm not sure if it's enough to run the game on high, but the GTX 260 did beat the Blizzard-recommended GeForce 8800GT on most levels other than Core clock and Shader clock, which I still don't understand.

So hook me with some info. I'm itching to play this thing.

If you are going to use only one graphics card, then it doesn't matter whether or not the motherboard is SLI or crossfire compatible. You may use an ATI or Nvidia card whichever you prefer. My personal preference in motherboards is Gigabyte or MSI. You can still get an Intel chipset with those and other brands if that's what you prefer.

It also doesn't matter if the board RAM and the card VRAM are different. It doesn't affect anything.

The GTX 260 is a decent card. I have that installed in one of my own PCs (abeit an older one).