Overclocking i7 920

Status
Not open for further replies.

asdfasdfasdf

Hi, I'm pretty new at overclocking, but I have read a lot of guides and watched several videos as well. I have an i7 920 with Asus P6T (the regular one... not the deluxe or any special editions). I was running prime 95 overnight, and it would crash or restart after 5 hours of testing. I'm just wondering if this means it's stable or not. Some people would run prime95 for HOURS (12-24 hours) and some people would run it for less (eg. 15 minutes of a small little test and then 9 hours of testing after that). My goal is to try and overclock it to 3.5GHz as I would rather not risk my system with 3.8 GHz. I'm just wondering if the crash means the voltages needs to be raised or not. Also, I have 6 Gigs of ram at the moment, and I left out everything as Auto for now in the BIOS except the bus voltage (left that as 1.64v). Currently, I'm testing at 3.3GHz to see if it can get through at least 12 hours. I would also like to add that the highest temp I've seen is 64-65C with Real Temp whenever I run prime95, so the temp does seem safe and all :) As always, help is appreciated, and thanks in advance!

hey asdfasdfasdf,