PC crashes during sfc /scannow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toasterfraker

I'm running Vista Home Premium on a Toshiba Satellite A200.

A few weeks ago, I got three BSODs over 2 days. I have been using my computer for about 4 months without any problems; I haven't installed any hardware recently and since I hadn't unchecked the 'restart automatically' option in my settings, I wasn't able to jot everything down regarding the error messages; one had IRQL_NOT LESS OR EQUAL and another something about ntfs.sys

I ran a sfc /scannow and checkdisk just in case. Everything came out clean. About 3 weeks passed without any problem.

Just a few days ago, I got a new BSOD. This time I was able to note evrything down.

STOP: 0x0000007E (0xc000001D,0x804724E5,0x830779D0,0x830776cc)
acpi.sys
Adress 804724E5
Base at 80461000
Datestamp 4549adb7

I rebooted. Started running sfc /scannow. At about 20%, another BSOD
PFN_LIST_CORRUPT
STOP:0x0000004E (0x00000099,0x00054551,0x00000002,0x00007080)

Reboot in safe mode. Start running sfc /scannow. BSOD at about 50%
PFN_LIST_CORRUPT
STOP:0x0000004E (0x00000099,0x00041E7E,0x00000002,0x00004327D)

I haven't had time to do anything else. Yesterday my girlfriend tried to boot and the screen just froze on the desktop right after the welcome message.

I haven't tried anything yet. Tomorrow I'll try a system restore first to see if it helps any and then run the diagnostics and appz recommended by DonNagual in his Troubleshooting thread

I saw from work yesterday that there was a BIOS update for my computer on the Toshiba website but I can't download and install if I can't boot in anything but safe mode, can I? If I can download it at work and put it on a USB device or a CD, will I be able to install it in safe mode? I'm a little hesitant to flash the BIOS as it pretty much messed up my last PC so I'll probably try that if all else fails first.