PC doesn't start

stairway100

hello! it's my first time posting a thread, i don't know how this things work, so i'll head straight to the problem: i was playing crysis, then i paused and went away for about 15 minutes. when i got back, my pc was dead, i couldn't start it anymore, on occasional tries i witnessed some kind of sparks, but it looked like the pc started for half a second, not an usual spark though... i think it's overheated, but i seriously doubt in this, i have intel q8300, nvidia gt9800, 4gb ram, gigabyte ep43-s3l motherboard, it's a stock computer, as far i can remember it's normal temperatures were around 40°C, i the time i was running crysis, xfire, torrent, and i think messenger, but until that point, the pc handled it with no problem...sorry for bad english and probably some stupid information, i'm a noob at this things, and i hope someone will be able to help me :)

What do you mean by "stock" computer, is it a brand name? Have you added any components since you bought it? What is the make and model of the Power Supply?

Since it is Summer time and a HOT one at that, depending on where you live, how is the computer plugged in to the wall outlet? Are there many devices on the same circuit, any Window Air Conditioning?

Is the I/O shield still there at the Rear Panel (the silver metal plate covering the rear panel connectors)?

I suggest not attempting to turn the system ON again till we take a look inside your system first.

Check the Capacitors on your mother board and video card (even in the power supply if you can) against Capacitor plague

Not distract from what Sharam said but can you also tell us where the sparks seemed to be coming from?

by stock computer i mean, that i haven't touched it's components, they're just the way they were, when i bought the computer

along the computer there are speakers and monitor plugged in the same wall outlet, window is in the next room, it's usually opened and so are the doors between rooms